Tuesday Toolbox

Tuesday Toolbox 8…


So anyways, believe it or not, you’ve already learnt a lot about yourself without even looking at the planets or how they talk to each other. Hopefully you’ve spent some time looking at your chart (if you don’t have one, refer back to lesson 1) and getting a feel for what each segment could be.

  • You already know whether you’re an “out there” or “in here” type of person… remember lesson 1?
  • You also know whether you tend to concentrate on relationships more than self…or vice versa….or whether those parts of your life are more evenly balanced. That was in lesson 2.
  • You now know what parts of life tend to be busier or needing more attention than others- they’re the houses with planets…the busier the house, the busier that part of life- both literally and in terms of what you need to learn.
  • Though looking at the number of planets in angular (lesson 3), succedent (lesson 4) and cadent (lesson 5) houses, you also know whether you’re more likely to be interested in taking action, consolidating or learning.
  • Lessons 6 and 7 dealt with the house associations with the elements, and whether you tend to be driven by issues of identity and life experience, wealth and materiality, relationship, social and intellectual considerations, or emotional, soul and subconscious urges.

We’re now ready to add an extra layer- the signs.

Your personal experience of each house, and approach to that part of life, will be coloured by the sign that is on the cusp of each house- we talked a little about this in Lesson 1.1.

Each sign is comprised of three factors:

  1. Polarity
  2. Elemental
  3. Modality


Essentially the zodiac is neatly divided into two:

  • Masculine, yang or positive signs: Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, Aquarius
  • Feminine, yin or negative signs: Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces

It’s not about whether a sign is necessarily male or female- although there is an absolute association, rather the difference between the two is largely in the way in which energy is directed…and yes, I’m aware of the inherent sexism:

  • With the positive signs, energy is directed outwards…extroverted. These signs tend to be the ones who project out into the world. They tend to be more objective.
  • It’s the opposite with yin signs- the energy is directed or received inward…introverted. These signs tend to be more subjective.
  • Masculine signs tend to assert, feminine signs tend to receive or draw in.

How many planets do you have in masculine signs? What about in feminine signs?


We’ve spoken a bit about about the elements in Lesson 6.

  • Fire signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius
  • Earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo
  • Air signs: Libra, Aquarius, Gemini
  • Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Have you noticed something already?

Fire and Air signs are positive, and Earth and Water signs are negative.

Doing it for yourself:

How many planets do you have in each element? If you like, you can score them in the same way we did last week.

What happens if you include the element of your rising sign- the Ascendant…the sign on the cusp of your 1st house. Give it 2 pts. You could even use the Midheaven as well…for 1 pt.

Is the composition different to when you looked at it through the houses? It’s ok if it is…

Take mine for example…we saw last week how I had most of my planets in fire houses, yet, elementally speaking, I’m predominantly water- with absolutely no planets in air signs:

Fire: Saturn (Aries), Venus (Aries)- 2pts

Earth: Uranus, Pluto (Virgo)- 2pts

Air: 0

Water: Ascendant (Pisces)2, Sun (Pisces)2, Moon (Pisces)2, Mercury (Pisces), Jupiter (Cancer), Mars (Scorpio), Neptune (Scorpio)- 10pts

Next week…we’ll look at modality and what it can tell you about your attitude to life and to change…

Want more? Check out this post for more on the elements.

And for some posts on balancing the elements?

Solid Rock

Burning Up

Finding the missing link