About the planets…

The Personal Planets

The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus & Mars are known as the personal planets. These planets move between signs fairly quickly and for this reason are the planets which form your personality.

They determine such things as:

  • Your ego
  • Your motivations
  • Your Identity
  • Your motivations
  • Emotions
  • Communication
  • Primary Challenges
  • Relationship style

The sign that these planets falls in describes how they work in your life and the contacts they make to other planets show how easily or challenging they are able to operate.

Whilst your sun sign defines your ego, motivations, needs and approach to life all the other planets have a say in who you are and what your motivations and challenges may be. This is why sometimes you may not behave in the way that your sun sign says you should- particularly if a lot of planets occupy signs other than your sun sign.

The Luminaries

The Sun:  Who YOU are, what motivates you, your ego, self expression, your overall attitude to life.

The Moon: Your instinctive and most basic emotional reactions, what makes you feel safe and what nurtures you.

The Other Personal Planets

Mercury: How you think, how you learn, how you communicate and how you process all the data that hits your brain during a normal lifetime.

Venus: What makes you feel good, how you approach relationships, what you find attractive, how you dress/ decorate yourself. In a man’s chart Venus also is an indication of qualities (physical andotherwise) that he looks for in a partner.

Mars: Your drive, your energy, what turns you on, what you desire, what you go after, your temper, how you assert yourself. In a woman’s chart Mars is an indication of the qualities (physical and otherwise) that she looks for in a partner.

Jupiter: your attitude to risk and good fortune, how you expand your boundaries, how you experience life.

Saturn: your fears, your boundaries, how you set goals and accept responsibility.

Outer or Generational Planets

For traditional astrologers, Saturn was as far as they could see – the outer planets have only been discovered relatively recently. Uranus was the 1st in 1781 to be discovered using a telescope.

Whilst the visible planets influence our behaviour and personalities, Uranus, Neptune & Pluto define generations. The sun swings through all 12 signs in a year, but Uranus takes 84 years, Neptune 165 years and Pluto almost 250 years to complete their trip through the zodiac.

As a result, these planets have little effect on day to day behaviour and don’t distinguish you from people of the same generation. They are, however, the major culprits behind life-changing and transformative shake-ups. Where they fall in the chart and the aspects they form to your other planets, will determine the nature of their effect.

Uranus: independence, freedom, rebellion – where you need space

Neptune: intuition, escapist, dissolution of boundaries – where you may sacrifice yourself, where you may delude yourself & where you may be deluded.

Pluto: transformation, power, control, obsession – where you will obsess, where you will be transformed, and where you will transform others.